Tuition fees at Carl Sandburg will remain the same for 2022-23


Tuition fees at Carl Sandburg College will remain the same for the 2022-23 academic year.

The Sandburg Board of Trustees approved tuition for the upcoming academic year at its regular monthly meeting Thursday at the main Galesburg campus. Tuition will remain at $175 per credit hour for in-district students, $262 per credit hour for out-of-district students, and $292 per credit hour for out-of-state students . This is the second time in three years that Sandburg has kept tuition rates unchanged.

The board also accepted a grant from the North Central United States Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education Program to support a youth agriculture camp on main campus this summer. The grant will support “Rooted in the Community,” a two-day camp that will host 60 participants and focus on sustainable/local farming concepts, careers in the agriculture industry, and nutrition.

Campers will interact with farmers, master gardeners and grocers, and they will each receive a garden tool kit as well as a voucher to purchase produce.

Faculty members Renee Eickman (sociology), Sharon Trotter-Martin (English), and Marla Turgeon (library teaching services) have been tenured, beginning in the 2022-2023 academic year.

The contracts of non-tenured professors Jeremy Bohrer (mathematics), Tina Braun-Smith (associate graduate nurse), Nicole Lepper (associate graduate nurse), Ian Milligan (manufacturing technology), Sonrisa Nolan (speech) and Joshua Seifert (business and economics ) have been renewed for the 2022-23 academic year.

The probationary terms of nonpermanent faculty members Tammi Lewis (associate graduate nurse) and Robert Thompson (theatre) have been extended for a fourth year for the 2022-23 academic year.

In other matters, the Board approved:

  • An estimate of $33,638.16 from CDW to replace the current computer server backup battery.
  • A $29,100 quote from AMP Electrical Services to perform a distribution assessment of the College’s electrical systems.
  • Employment of Eric Johnson as Director of Advancement, effective March 1.
  • Employment of Stefani Gillen as Academic Support Services Coordinator/Americans with Disabilities Act & Section 504, effective March 1.
  • Resignation of Emma Thompson as Data/Program Assistant for TRIO Upward Bound, effective February 4.
  • Resignation/retirement of Jan Lundeen as full-time nursing professor, effective June 30.

The next scheduled board meeting is March 24 at 7 p.m.


Comments are closed.